Tim talks about the significance of rainbows

Day 12

As I do my daily exercise of walking around my estate with Linda and Lola my dog I have noticed many hand drawn rainbows in windows as well as other notices of support for the NHS. The significance of the rainbow is found in Genesis 9: 12 – 17 The Message translation says:

And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.” So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.’

Genesis chapters six to nine tell us about the story of Noah and the flood God allowed to cleanse the world. The rainbow was established to remind both God and mankind that the earth will not be destroyed again.

The rainbow is truly a reflection and symbol of the beauty of love. It represents a love, a promise, a covenant like no one else could give but one only God.

The rainbow is also a sign that reminds me that God is not remote but is with us in both the good and bad times, we may be separated from each other in this time of lock down, but I believe that the Godhead is with us and often carries us through our own daily struggles.

So let me encourage you to draw a rainbow and put it on your window and also to draw closer to the Godhead and allow the Holy Spirit to help you to communicate to and hear from God.

Tim

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started